IEEE Microwave Theory & Techniques Society


The IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) is a transnational society with more than 10,500 members and 190 chapters worldwide. Our society promotes the advancement of microwave theory and its applications, including RF, microwave, millimeter-wave, and terahertz technologies.

This is an all-volunteer society, driven to excellence by its leadership and with the active participation of all its world-wide members. Our professional venues provide a great opportunity for networking with experienced innovators, experts, and practitioners.

IEEE MTT-S SBC GECBH started its operation in 2019. Dr. Alaa Abunjaileh (IEEE MTT-S president) inaugurated the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S) Student Branch Chapter, GEC Barton Hill online on September 17, 2020 in the presence of Dr. Rashaunda Henderson (Chair, MTT-S Education Committee), Dr. Ramesh Gupta (Former Chair, MTT-S Education Committee), Dr. Shiban Koul (IEEE MTT-S R-10 coordinator; IIT (Chair, MTT-S MGA committee). Participants from all over the world, including experienced MTT-S members, ISRO scientists, and others, attended the inauguration. The pictures and news of our chapter inauguration were published in the microwave magazine and it was the first time the news of a student branch chapter inauguration at a college was featured in the magazine.

The society began with a few members and has since grown to be one of the most influential uprising societies within the college SBC. The IEEE MTT-S GECBH SBC is well-known around the world and has the highest membership of any MTT-S SBC at the undergraduate level. Our society seeks to bridge the gap between industry and academia by offering a variety of mentoring programs and internship opportunities under the supervision of industry experts. We offer webinars, seminars, peer-to-peer discussions, quizzes, and distinguished lecture series on a regular basis. Our society’s members are guaranteed to take full advantage of the resources available to them. Members have the opportunity to engage with professionals and scientists in this area in person and learn more.


  • MTT-Sat Challenge: The MTT-Sat Challenge is a worldwide competition for teams of undergraduate and graduate students to design and build radio frequency (RF) and microwave hardware for small satellites. Read more…

  • MTT-S Undergraduate scholarship: Up to 10 Undergraduate/Pre-Graduate Scholarships in the amount of $1500 may be granted semi-annually to assist BS and MS students in electrical engineering. Read more..

  • Outstanding Young Engineer: Recognizes an outstanding young MTT-S Member, who has distinguished him/herself through achievement(s), which may be technical (within the MTT-S Field of Interest). Read more..

  • N. Walter Cox Award: Recognizes an individual (IEEE MTT-S member) who has given exemplary service to the Society in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation. Read more..

  • The Terahertz Science and Technology Best Paper Award: The Terahertz Science and Technology Best Paper Award is given annually to the authors of an article published in the IEEE Transactions on Terahertz Science and Technology during the prior calendar year. Read more..

  • The Tatsuo Itoh Award: The Tatsuo Itoh Award is given annually to the best paper published in the IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters during the prior calendar year. Read more..

  • Microwave Magazine Best Paper Award: Recognizes the peer-reviewed technical feature from the prior calendar year that is judged to provide a clear overview of the state of the art in a given area of the MTT Society’s field of interest. Read more..

  • Microwave Career Award: Recognizes an individual (IEEE member) for a career of meritorious achievement and outstanding technical contribution in the field of microwave theory and techniques. Read more..

  • Distinguished Educator Award: Recognizes a distinguished educator (IEEE MTT-S member) in the field of microwave engineering and science who best exemplifies the special human qualities of Fred Rosenbaum, who considered teaching a high calling and demonstrated his dedication to Society through tireless service. Read more..

  • Microwave Pioneer Award: Recognizes an individual or a team not exceeding three persons having made outstanding pioneering technical contributions that advance microwave theory and techniques, which are described in an archival paper published at least 20 years prior to the year of the award. Read more..

  • Microwave Application Award: Recognizes an individual or a team for an outstanding application of microwave theory and techniques, which has been reduced to practice nominally 10 years before the award. Read more..

To view all IEEE MTT-S GECBH posts

ExCom 2021 – 22

Mr. Anu Mohamed
APS & MTT-S Advisor
Mehar S
Manu S Nair
Vice Chair
Greeshma D

Translate »